*The Liebster Award!* XD

liebster-award

| Liebster — (German) n. sweetheart, beloved person, darling | 

Suzanne – Hope Sandoval and the Warm Inventions

[audio http://a.tumblr.com/tumblr_kwyzkwLPRr1qzjikxo1.mp3]

Hooray!

muchadoaboutlove from The Talking Cupboard and BestyHp from Creating Volumes have nominated Idle Revelry for a Liebster Award! Thank you, guys! This is so exciting. Blogging is something that grew out of our love for the shows we watch and the discussion that always arise from them, and it’s wonderful to be able to share that love and to know that our contribution is appreciated. We’ve been away for a little while trying to handle being adults in our real lives, but this is a welcomed surprise as we try to get back into writing about kdramas.

So, what exactly is the Liebster Award? From what we gather, it’s a way to foster community within this vast blogosphere: everyone who participates gets to nominate some of their own much-loved but perhaps lesser-known blogs and bloggers, and they get to let the world know a little more about themselves. Here are the rules:

  • List 11 random facts about yourself.
  • Answer the questions designated by the blogger (s) who nominated you.
  • Place YOUR nominations for the Liebster Award! Nominate five (or more) other bloggers that have less than 200 followers. Make sure to notify them via comment/email, etc.
  • Make up a set of questions for those nominated bloggers to answer.
  • Display the Liebster award badge on your blog!

Malta:

11 Random Facts

  1. I have a thing for turtles which not a lot of people do, but oddly enough, like frogs, they are animals kids like and there are always a lot of little figurines of them whether at specialty stores or gas stations. People also seem to like using (generally) larger than life replicas of them as garden features. Bizarre.
  2. I also love languages, but I’m not good at learning them which makes me really sad. I love Korean. I love listening to the sound of the Korean language, but most of all I love Hangul. The Hangul alphabet is beautiful and the writing is beautiful from a purely design point of view. It’s rational and good looking. Because the alphabet is phonetic, I can read some Korean! Only a little though, and very slowly and painfully.
  3. I love handbags, shoes, and jewelry. I don’t have a lot of handbags, but that’s because I have to pay bills, not because I don’t want them! I have a fair number of shoes, but nothing ridiculous. I don’t have a lot of jewelry, again because I can’t afford what I like, not because I don’t want it. ladida thinks I have a lot of clothes, but honestly I have to get dressed each day for work and it’s trying at times to put together an outfit I haven’t worn in the last two weeks. I don’t have a lot of clothes. Anyway, my closet is the size of 2 gym lockers. -.- It sucks.
  4. I can draw and paint in different mediums. Drawing is my favorite thing to do since I was a kid.
  5. I love music. Somehow, I manage to spend a lot of money and time on music without being much of a music connoisseur. I don’t know a lot of music history or have a lot of technical knowledge about music. I listen to many different genres of music. I like kpop and I love Korean ballads. I have a lot of electronica and alternative music… I just have a lot of music and I listen to it all the time.
  6. I love to travel and I’ve been to many places, but not as many as I would like. Traveling is what I would do with my time if I were rich. I’m not rich, but I still travel.
  7. My car is 12yrs old and if I have my way, I will never get a new one.
  8. I like watching college football, tennis, and extreme sports. I love watching all the different sports from the Olympics. Recently I’ve been watching taekwondo matches from the last summer Olympics, but my favorite summer Olympic sports are swimming, diving, and gymnastics. How did I start watching taekwondo? It was a tangent from watching a kdrama! Shin Ha kyung’s character on All About My Romance does Kumdo, also a martial art. So while looking up what kumdo was, one tangent lead to another and then I ended up watching 2 hours of Olympic taekwondo competition.
  9. I have an excellent ramen restaurant 3 blocks from my house. :D There is a huge difference between real ramen made with pork, nori, vegetables, real broth, and an egg and the 99 cent ramen you make on a hot plate in your dorm room! Is this the stuff they were making in Flower Boy Ramen Shop?! Because now I can understand how ramen can comfort a wayward, teenage, Jay Park look-a-like delinquent’s soul. TT
  10. One time, ladida and I went to H-Mart, a Korean food supermarket in the NY area, and bought Korean side dishes and kimchi. True story. We made a whole trip of it one weekend. 95% of the people there were of Korean descent and ladida and I are very much not of Korean or Asian descent, but nobody blinked or looked at us like we didn’t belong there. Muhahaha, be gone irrational fears of being different! I was so excited and tried not to go crazy buying tons of Korean food. I highly recommend going to H-Mart if there is one around you or ordering online from them. http://www.hmart.com/   They have tons of prepared foods and kimchi by the gallon in the store. So basically, it’s heaven.
  11. I wish I had the patience, skill, and determination to write fiction and/or film scripts. I have lots of ideas and opinions, but alas, a critic is not a writer. And so I blog.

ladida

11 Random Facts

  1. I love Jane Austen! My favorite books of hers are Persuasion, Pride and Prejudice, and Northanger Abbey. My favorite heroines are Catherine Morland, Anne Elliot, Elizabeth Bennet, and Elinor Dashwood, and all for different reasons. My favorite heros are Mr. Tilney (he knows muslin!) and Captain Wentworth (“You pierce my soul. I am half agony, half hope . . . I offer myself to you again with a heart even more your own than when you almost broke it, eight years and a half ago.”) I’ve never seen the 2009 BBC Emma–blasphemy, I know–but I’m trying to fix that.
  2. I recently watched the live-action Rurouni Kenshin film and am now obsessed. I’m talking anime-watching, manga-reading, doujinshi-devouring, meta-writing, fic-reccing levels of obsessed, guys. I love what it has to say about violence and revolution and family and gender, and I adore Kaoru. I might make a post of my thoughts on the Rurouken universe.
  3. Tumblr has destroyed my life. Please someone tell me how to save myself.
  4. I like dramas that tread familiar ground in terms of tropes and cliches and stories, but do them very well. They’re comforting.
  5. My love of GD has plunged dramatically. I mean, what in sweet heaven is this? It’s ok, though, because Yoon Shi Swoon is perfect. You’re welcome. Here, have some more:tumblr_mno36jQLwD1rpvk2do1_500
  6. I love world literature. I spent all last year reading Haruki Murakami (I read Norwegian Wood, The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle, South of the Border West of the Sun, and Kafka on the Shore). Some of my all time favorites are Mama Leone by Miljenko Jergovic, The Ten Thousand Things by Marie Dermout, and The Crooked Line by Ismat Chugtai.
  7. Every day I wish I were independently wealthy so that I could devote my life to going back to school, TV, movies, books, food, and Tumblr.
  8. It has become apparent to me that writing 11 things about yourself is actually a lot.
  9. I’m too much of a coward to be a writer.
  10. Um…Pretension is boring. Most of the time jealousy is, too.
  11. Uuummm…I think the solution to most of the problems we have in media is getting more stories and making more voices represented. And oh! Malta and I have this fantasy/joke of being consultants where we go into big Hollywood studios and tell them how to fix their stories. (We’ve seen so. many. bad movies this year. It’s really sad.)

Nominator Questions

muchadoaboutlove:

1. What was the drama that you found it hardest to move on when it ended, i.e. dealing with the craziest withdrawal symptom?

A: FLOWER BOY NEXT DOOR. I am still not over this drama and it’s been half a year. Every time I start a new drama I think, “You are not Dok Mi. You are not Enrique. HULK SMASH.” I’ve watched it over and over, started a tumblr for it, talked about it endlessly to other fans, whined to Malta about it, and am currently in the middle of a great tumblr group re-watch and meta-fest. I know it’s not the perfect drama. It’s not Coffee Prince or Heartless City (which I hear has been flawless, but then again I’ve also heard that I Hear Your Voice is flawless) but it has a light pathos and a touching humor to it, and it’s full of an  earnestness that you don’t see very often anymore.

2. What makes you jump into the world of blogging about dramas?

A: I’m obnoxiously opinionated and when I get into something I really get into it and have to put down my ideas about it. Also Malta always says these amazing things and then promptly forgets them, and I feel they should be documented for progeny.

3. Name an actor/actress in his/her 20′s that you think would still act when he/she reaches 50 years old. Why do you think so?

A: Oh, this is hard. I’m not as interested in the actors as I am in the shows…I’ll go with Park Shin Hye, just because she has a very natural style about her and she’s been so winning in all the interviews I’ve seen her in. I also adore Moon Chae Won but I’m afraid she might stop acting and start a family. I don’t know why I have that impression. As for actors, Song Joong Ki. I mean, the guy is talented and ridiculously driven, and I’m pretty sure his goal is to take over the world.

4. Do you have a favorite among the acting-dol (acting idols)?

A: Nope.  ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

5. How do you see yourself  in 20 years, especially in your drama watching habit and your blog?

A: What a frightening question! Well, hopefully I will be one or more of the following: married to Yoon Shi Yoon; an established writer and professor; a movie director; Yoo In Na; fabulously wealthy.

In terms of drama watching, I hope by then I’ll have learned to speak Korean well enough that I can watch them without subs and can provide in-depth language analysis. I also want to find a way to have a definite schedule so that I can post more regularly. I mean, 20 years is enough time to figure that out, right?

BestyHp:

1. If you could have one mutant power, what power would it be?

A: The power to understand others’ desires, intentions, and goals–a kind of intellectual empathy, for lack of a better term–so that I could work as a political mediator during conflicts and to prevent them.

2. Breakfast, lunch or dinner?

A: Breakfast, lunch, and dinner, with Yoon Shi Yoon on even days and a rotating cadre of favorites on odd days. (For shame, for shame!)

3. Why a blog and why the k-drama?

A: I kind of answered why a blog above, so I’ll tackle why the kdrama. I love that kdramas tell an entire story. It might be a horrible story and it may make no sense, but it is a whole story. One of my  TV disappointments is HBO’s Carnivale, which kind of lost it’s way and was canceled. American television just doesn’t appreciate the power of a well-plotted mini series, and it’s to its detriment, I feel. I also love how much kdramas focus on romance. Romance is usally met with disdain, but in kdramas romance is central and important. And finally, well, where else am I gonna get Queen In Hyun’s Man? And Coffee Prince? And Dal Ja’s Spring? And it’s somehow much easier to write about kdramas than it is to write about Parks and Recreation or The Mindy Project.

4. If you could be in a k-drama, what drama would you choose? And would you be an established character, yourself, yourself with mutant powers, fill-in-blank?

A: I WOULD BE CHOI HEE JIN AND I WOULD CLIMB BOONG DO LIKE A TREE.

But if we’re talking about a drama I would like to be in that doesn’t exist, I really think JTCB should take up some of the flower boy space on tv and make a drama called something like “Oh No! My Noona’s In Love With Me!” and it will be a noona romance, naturally, and our heroine will be a fierce feminist who crushes patriarchy under the heel of her combat boots, and she’ll fall in love with the hero first, and she’ll be totally, wickedly gleeful about it and the guy she’s all gaga for will be all ~innocent like~ and “Wha-what? But you’re my noona, I don’t see you like tha—OH NO YOU’RE HOTTT LET’S DATE” the end. Oh wait, what character would I play? It’s too shameless to say I’ll play the heroine, so I would play her best friend.

5. If you created a second blog about something completely different from what you’re blogging about now, what would it be about?

A: Literature, writing, movies, and international politics.

Phew! Ok, now onto my nominations:

1. The Talking Cupboard: Thoughts and recaps on kdramas, with some reviews of kpop thrown in. A lovely blog!

Fav posts: Lee Dong Wook Apprecaition Post | Now THIS is an Addiction! | FBND ep. 8

2. Creating Waves: BestyHp’s thoughts and updates on what she’s watching.

Fav posts: Romcoms and Flower Boys | Can We Get Married | I Should Have Adored You!

3. Sulovesdrama: Thoughts on kdramas, jdoramas, and films. One of my favorite blogs to comment on.

Fav posts: All her Nice Guy posts | All her Queen Insu posts (I want to watch this and ILICDD so badly!)

4. Kdrama Laws: All the kdrama laws (and illogicality) in one place. Very informative.

Fav posts: Cohabitation Law | Wanted: QIHM | Definition: USA

5. Serendipity’s Stream of Consciousness Insights on the lesser watched dramas.

Fav posts: Song Joong Ki Angsting | Evasive Inquiry Agency

*Mystery Blog: There’s this blogger who has galleries of Yoon Shi Yoon and Joo won and I’ve forgotten the name of the blog! Help me!

**And extra ones:  Kolorful Palette Just visit the blog, you’ll love it. | Outside Seoul I don’t know how many followers she has (she’s on Blogger), but she’s hilarious and insightful and posts regularly. | Ripgal’s Haven of Insanity One of the first blogs I started following. | Thundie’s Prattle Lost of love <3333

My Questions for all you lovelies:

  1. What are your top three favorite posts you’ve written?
  2. Do you have a writing philosophy? If you do, what is it? If you don’t, how do you set out to write?
  3. Give a synopsis of a drama you wish someone would write.
  4. How do you feel about the 2013 drama year so far? Which year was your favorite?
  5. Do you watch jdoramas and if so which are your favs?
  6. Bonus: We have recap blogs, general thoughts blogs, squee blogs, etc. What kind of kdrama blog would you like to see?

I just discovered Jomo is doing a What’s Up Fox recap of each episode! Off to follow and read!

yes sir!– 14saranghae

About Malta

I guess I'm a blogger now...

14 comments

  1. Love this post! Congrats ladies :)

  2. Having fun reading the answers and the random facts! Thanks for the response and double thanks for the nomination ;) Gonna add my answers to the post!

    PS: I think the mystery blog you’re talking about is my blog. However, the said gallery is being edited since the pictures were all jumbled up because of the new theme :B

    • ladida

      Oooohhhh. I remember I left a comment about your YSY gallery and I went hunting for it and couldn’t find it anywhere. Glad to hear it hasn’t disappeared forever!

  3. Pingback: Mein Liebster, My Dearest | the talking cupboard

  4. lumiere

    Great to see you’re back girls :)

  5. supah

    ALO. Enjoyed this, it was such a happy, trippy post. <333

    Malta:
    ''I don’t know a lot of music history or have a lot of technical knowledge about music.''
    Awwh. Honest words. I'm right there with you. I realise I'm very clingy with music, I need it with me all the time, but I'm not technical, knowledgable about it either. This is the part where we don't engage our brain but the heart — and we don't have to fear any consequences in doing so.

    Ladida:
    I'm a Bronte girl all the way. Reading this, I realise that I miss books. I should make some time for reading sometime.
    I get you on the jealousy being boring part. I think it's nice that some of us girls ARE born without the jealousy gene. We can be objective and appreciate others and praise them for what's genuinely sound about them. You know, give credit where it's due and everything? — I don't get jealousy. But I'm still human and I may on the occasion feel a fleeting moment of envy but it's just that — fleeting. It's soon overcome..

    And yes, I totally beat you to it! I tagged you first!
    http://sulovesdrama.wordpress.com/2013/06/09/blog-award-random-niceness/#comment-1020

    • All I have to say to you is EXO.

      EXO. EXO. EXO.

      I love them all. All 12 of them. ugh.

      What is happening to my life? I am too old to be a fangirl, but I don’t care. Let’s just say I now understand what a comeback is. I’ve never been excited for a comeback before, and I’ve been through a few in my day…but now I understand.

      ladida makes fun of me mercilessly for my love of them and I torture her by forcing her to listen to Exo in the car when I give her a ride. Chinese and Korean version of each song. Mauahahahaha Sweet Revenge!

      EXO.

      • supah

        EXOOOO!!
        Eeek! So happy to have a fellow EXO pen to squee along with.
        Did you watch their live performances and consecutive #1 wins? I liked their Encores — a LOT. Kind of feel like a proud noona.
        Chanyeol is like… *dribble*
        He and ‘Krease’ are really working that Dumb and Dumber cut. Didn’t think it was a flattering look on anyone till them two came along. <33333

        Really want their album so I can collect all their postcards.^^ I think I LUFF about 7 of them, LIKE about 4 of them and feel a little ambivalent about 1 of them — Sehun. Dude with the Lithp?! I think I would've liked him as unresevedly as I do the rest if it wasn't for his Kim Hyun-joong-ish kind of look?

        Is Ladida over onto the dark side yet? LOL.

  6. I had a friend whose family rule was to break for turtles. And then get out and carry them across the road (which ever way they were going). I always thought that was a cool rule and if I lived around regular road-crossing turtle, I’d totally obey it.

    I want an excellent ramen shop 3 blocks from my house, too. *pouts*

    Oh, my beloved Jane Austen! And yes, Rurouni Kenshin is totally worth obsessing about… I’ll have to find that movie…

    If Song Joong Ki takes over the world I imagine he’d just give it a great big hug. So I’m not very worried that it’s more likely “when” than “if”. ;)

    And, “Oh No, My Noona’s In Love With Me!” so needs to be made. Just for the wicked glee alone. :D

    Really cool Liebster you two! Especially all sparkly like that. I love that you’ve include a few post links to your nominations. What a wonderful invitation to go exploring! :D

  7. Aww, your friend is so nice…I barely brake for people. NYC has turned me into a horrible driver. I get road rage in the suburbs now. I’ve turned into one of those people I use to judge.

  8. Hey ladies! Great post!
    It’s my dream to own a tortoise. And oddly, I do have musical training, technical background, the whole blah blah, blah but don’t love it nearly as much as other who don’t. I call it my first love, but we couldn’t make it work ’cause I hate the “C” word. So I love to hear about others who love it unconditionally. Lol.
    Die hard Anne and Wentworth girl here! It’s story that penetrates down to bone. Love.
    And jealousy is most definitely boring—- a colossal waste of time and energy.

  9. Pingback: Last of the Liebster questions… | Creating Volumes

  10. Pingback: The Ninja Award | kdrama laws

Revel!

