Nice Guy (Innocent Man) Episodes 13-14 Reflection

  

[Note: Ok, so I’ve fallen so far behind with Nice Guy that I have to write a reflection for three weeks’ worth of episodes (!). I’ll be writing up 3 separate reflections just as if I’d kept up with one for each week. I’ve tried to stick to the notes I took for each week so as to try to avoid spoilery stuff for future readers. And for the folks who’ve come back even though I haven’t posted in so long, thanks so much!]

Quotes

Happiness – Ma Ru, episode 13

I saw Ma Ru writing “happiness” in the mirror and it I felt it spelt doom for him, because of the way it was filmed. Ma Ru comes out of the shower, with the heat from it hanging in a haze around the bathroom. He walks over to the mirror, and when he peers into it he doesn’t see his reflection because it’s fogged up. That’s when he writes the word. He looks at it for a moment. Then he wipes the word away–and that’s when his face is revealed, and he smiles. It’s like a sign telling us that happiness and Kang Ma Ru simply cannot co-exist, like the physics rule about two things not being able to be in the same place at the same time; when one is present, the other is wiped out. It’s a continuation of the way the drama has been using mirrors to reflect the state of the characters’ identities. Jae Hee broke a mirror during the height of her hypocrisy towards Ma Ru, which lead to a permanent breach in their relationship, and when Eun Ki first appeared onscreen after the car crash she looks blankly into a mirror, signifying an interruption in her identity. Actually, this happens again in this episode, when she looks in the mirror at Jae Hee’s home and calls herself stupid. Eun Ki knows so little about herself that she doesn’t know what she’s allergic to–she’s become a danger to herself. That’s how much her identity has been erased.

  
  

Someday, when you get tired of me and I become  too cumbersome to you I know that you will run away from me. – Eun Ki, episode 13

Here Eun Ki is referring to her disabilities and the help she’s needed just to be able to make it through a day, as well the help she’s needed specifically from Ma Ru in order to pretend to be the same old Eun Ki at Taesan. But there’s a whole other context to what she’s saying that she doesn’t even realize. Ma Ru doesn’t find her disabilities to be a burden. He welcomes them because they offer him a chance to atone for his past treachery. What he does find to be a burden is the possibility of her memories returning. It scares him. It’s not her disability that’s the problem, it’s her ability. Ma Ru vehemently denies that he could ever leave her, but he’s lying. He’s already pushed her away and run away from her and his guilt (actually, I wonder if part of the problem Ma Ru has is that he sees Eun Ki as a manifestation of his guilt) when they became too much for him to bear, and he’s doing the same thing even as they speak. He tells Eun Ki, “And running away, too,” and he pauses, breaks eye contact, then looks back at her, hitching a smile onto his face, “I won’t run away, either.” He knows he’s lying.

Ma Ru isn’t part of this relationship wholeheartedly. He’s put constraints on it, has made it a conditional love–he’ll leave when she gets her memories back. He’s preparing himself to leave her, always keeping a bit of himself separate from her, protecting himself. It’s in the way he doesn’t confess out loud to her, in the way he keeps alluding to his past bad character but doesn’t make it clear, in the way he encourages her to leave him when she gets her memories back. He has this fatalistic approach to their romance, as if it’s doomed to failure. It’s like he’s preemptively breaking things off because he’s convinced that that’s what she should do to him if and when she regains her memories. I remember someone arguing that it was a good thing Ma Ru doesn’t switch to a styrofoam cup when Eun Ki keeps on breaking the glass ones in episode 14 because that would signal a lack of faith–but that’s what Ma Ru displays every time he holds himself back from Eun Ki. It’s not something I necessarily want to fault him for: he’s so scarred, and  I’ve noted how he uses silence as a balm, and I can see how this could be an extension of that silence. It’s just…another obstacle to their romance.

  

Don’t worry, Eun Ki. I will take care of you till you die. I won’t ever kick you out without a penny, unlike someone else. As long as you know where you stand. As long as you stay stupid, pretty, and nice, like now, then I won’t hate you. Why would I hate you? Because of Ma Ru and me, your life has become a mess. You’re the biggest victim. I’m sorry. I’m sincerely sorry. – Jae Hee, episode 14

It creeps me out how easily you could replace her “then I won’t hate you” with “I will stay by your side” and attribute this to Ma Ru. It highlights Eun Ki’s dependency on him and makes it all the more satisfying when she finally decides she doesn’t want to hide behind him anymore. I think it says so much about Jae Hee that she understands that she’s helped to ruin Eun Ki, and that the only way she’ll be kind to her is if she remains ruined. She knows she’s guilty of something, but she doesn’t feel any guilt. What manifests as remorse in Ma Ru is determination in Jae Hee, and it perfectly encapsulates her selfishness. If you act exactly as she wants you to act, if your will aligns with her goals, then  she can treat you well. If you object to her in any way, then you have to be crushed. I’ve been every critical of the way Ma Ru loved her, and I still am, but I’m starting to think that as much as Jae Hee uses love strategically, she fosters a kind of love from others in which they bend to her every whim. I actually like this about her in terms of character development because it makes her relationship with Ahn the Ass that much more ripe for study. He is her ally, but he has at times been more proactive in helping her achieve her goals than she herself has been, like when he killed the chairman. That tension is probably only going to increase, what with Ahn’s jealous streak, and I’m looking forward to seeing the power dynamics unfold between them.

  

On Jae Hee and Power & Ma Ru and Doubt

Jae Hee’s Power and Genre

If Eun Ki’s power lies in being able to negotiate the past, being able to change her relationship with the past so that she can better navigate her present, then Jae Hee’s power lies in her ability to blur and confuse. Jae Hee is that fog in Ma Ru’s bathroom: she clouds things, makes them seem like they’re something they’re not, makes them seem like they aren’t there when they are. While Eun Ki tries to make things clearer and more coherent, as seen by the way pre-crash Eun Ki always confronted things head on and post-crash Eun Ki goes on a journey of retrieving her memories, Jae Hee deliberately tries to obscure things. It’s like Jae Hee is ambiguity itself, which would explain why her character can be so awful and still garner such sympathy.

Jae Hee’s greatest attacks don’t lie in any of the corporate machinations she’s tried with Taesan, but in her ability to sow doubt into the romance between Ma Ru and Eun Ki. Her greatest power is doubt, and because she uses love strategically, it has the most impact on the romance in the narrative. What Jae Hee knows is how to manipulate and inveigle through the use of love. She’s most threatening in that arena, and while she wants Taesan more than Eun Ki–enough to sell her into sexual slavery or have her killed–I find I’m more interested in the way her use of love will come back to haunt her, first with how she comes to regret her decision to leave Ma Ru (the first tiing Jae Hee ever regrets; remember she doesn’t even really regret “ruining” Eun Ki’s life, which is what Ma Ru most regrets) and how Lawyer Ahn will become more than she can handle. It reflects how the show isn’t really about corporate ascendency, but is at it’s core a romance. The strongest moments of episodes 13-14 were the ones that dealt with Ma Ru and Eun Ki’s romance, and the weakest ones were those addressing Eun Ki’s position in the company. I loved that Eun Ki decided to rid herself of dependency, but I wasn’t very invested in her trying to return to Taesan. I think it has something to do with her doing it to get back her memories of Ma Ru, and not because she enjoys the job, which is something the old Eun Ki actually did like. The old Eun Ki actually loved Taesan; what she didn’t like was her father’s insistence that it be all she had in her life, and she chose Ma Ru over that. So the show is a romance because it focuses on the trials of Eun Ki and Ma Ru’s love, but also because through Jae Hee it focuses on the ways love can be corrupted. And I just love that the thing we’re told that foils love is doubt, that indeterminate shadow that feels like you’re protecting yourself, but can chip away at you until there’s nothing left.

  
*It’s when Eun Ki starts doubting the reality she’s accepted–which is brought on by Jae Hee’s presence–that she collapses.*

Jae Hee’s Power In Action

I have to backtrack and go over a few things, though. Firstly, as of episode 14 Ma Ru has yet to say he loves Eun Ki. Here is the pseudo confession he gives in episode 12 (and he doesn’t say it to her, but in his head to his father):

Father.
One day, a woman walked towards me.
A woman whose heart my words pierced with the sharpest of knives;
A woman I tried to push away with all the might I could muster;
A woman who, in spite of that all, still kept on walking and came back to me.
A woman who so strikingly resembled me; in whose eyes I could see my own self, like a mirror to my soul.
A woman whose scars looked and felt and hurt like mine, whose heart was filled with a deluge of tears I for so long had trapped inside my mind.
Scars I inflicted, tears I am to blame for.
A woman I should have never met, who should have never had the misfortune of walking along the same path as someone like me.
A woman who makes me feel regret, Father.
For the very first time in my life.
Regret.

* The blogger whose translation this is asked not to be credited; but it’s not mine!

The most striking thing here is his sense of guilt, of contrition. It’s a lovely monologue, and it describes so perfectly how alike the two are and how resilient Eun Ki is, but it’s significance lies in the pain that exists between the two, in the remorse Ma Ru feels for being the source of that pain.

  

Secondly, when Ma Ru breaks up with Jae Hee in episode 8, he tells her that he didn’t understand his real motives in trying to get revenge on her, that he didn’t actually want vengeance, but was just trying to be close to her because of lingering romantic feelings.

Noona you know me very well. You know me much better than I know myself. The me that is confused, the day that I don’t want to believe myself, the me I wanted to deny; noona happened to be like the person who came into my heart, who knows me well enough to give me shivers**. Right? …So in fact my heart doesn’t want revenge. Even after you did all that it still missed you. It was my idiot like unendning feelings. …’Ma Ru-ah, help me!’ Whenever you called me I would abandon my younger sister with a fever of 38 °C. Like a crazy guy, running towards you like that, the Kang Ma Ru from 6 years ago. You knew I’d come to you like that. No matter what noona did, I understood, I was patient, I forgave you and endured it all. You also know this, right? Although I was used like that, the me that was crazy over Han Jae Hee like a mentally ill person, like a person lacking in some aspect, like a person with amnesia, like a person without a liver…Where Han Jae Hee is, where she is going, whether that place is heel or utter destruction, I am no longer interested.

The bolded part foreshadows what will happen to Eun Ki with her double amnesia and her cognitive disabilities; it also foreshadows how Ma Ru will start to forget his romance with Jae Hee. And this break up is a direct negation of the letter he wrote to her, when he’d said he’d follow her to the ends of the earth.

  

And now, in episode 14 Jae Hee tells Ma Ru:

[Ma Ru is gripping her lapel and has her shoved up against a wall and has just threatened her.] Love is not about loyalty. It’s not about sympathy, either. Just because you are sorry and want to return everything back to normal, doesn’t mean you’re in love. That is just your conscience. Love is what you gave me. That is love, right? [Ma Ru lets go of her lapel and looks shaken. He steps back from her.] …You came back as Eun Ki’s fiance. I have no idea why you are here to provoke me, but honestly, I don’t mind it. Honestly I was glad to see you again Ma Ru. …I’m going. See you again.

Jae Hee’s little speech is in direct response to Ma Ru’s previous two speeches. Jae Hee is doing two things here. First, no matter how much patience he has with Eun Ki now, no matter how well he treats her or how much he helps her, how “loyal” and “sympathetic” he is, Ma Ru will always be in a kind of debt to Eun Ki. He’ll always be paying her back, first for using her to get back at Jae Hee and secondly because of how cruelly  he broke up with her on the beach in episode 9 (which was itself a result of the former). It’s a position Jae Hee recognizes: after Ma Ru had come from jail she’d been in a kind of debt to him–an insurmountable one, one that couldn’t really be paid, except maybe by reciprocating an unending love for him. Ma Ru now has an unpayable debt to Eun Ki. But Jae Hee’s debt to him was for something he did freely for her and his debt to Eun Ki is for a wrong he did to her. Jae Hee is sowing a doubt here, one she thinks Ma Ru could have: is he doing all of this for Eun Ki out of love, or out of a feeling of debt, out of the burden of his conscience? Is it love or is it contrition?

  

And second, not only is Jae Hee trying to make Ma Ru’s romance with Eun Ki about repaying a debt, she’s also trying to make it about her. She’s trying to turn this incarnation of their romance into a continuance of it’s first incarnation, trying to say that he’s not actually in love with Eun Ki but is just trying to get close to her again, just like before. Of course, this is a manifestation of Jae Hee’s solipsism, but it’s also the sharpest knife she has in her cupboard, because she recognizes it’s a doubt Ma Ru may harbor himself. That’s why when she says “That was love,” Ma Ru takes a step back and is shocked. It’s like with those three little words (which kind of mock those other famous three little words that Ma Ru has yet to say to Eun Ki, i.e. “I love you”; although, does that work in Korean?) she says aloud and makes real what he has been trying to keep at bay. With those three words she literally gives the him shivers he’d referred to before. Ma Ru was right, Jae Hee knows him very, very well. She doesn’t have the power to call him over to her side willy nilly anymore, but she does have the power to make him doubt himself. Thinking about it now, it’s a crushing doubt that began in episode 8 when he discovered the extent and scope of the lies Jae Hee was willing to tell. I’ve been watching this drama  thinking that Ma Ru’s fall began after Jae Hee stopped coming to visit him in jail, but really, it was this blow that destroyed him.

I’ve got to hand it to Jae Hee, when she’s good at something, she’s good. That last line she says to him, “See you again,” is so deadly because when he broke up with her he basically swore he’d never see her again, and yet here he is, a year later, and they are facing each other. That last line is Jae Hee saying, “Are you really doing this for Eun Ki?”

On Ma Ru, Guilt, and Punishment

You getting mad, breaking everything, and being like this after collapsing. It actually makes me happy. In this situation, it’s normal to get angry and furious. Because, Seo Eun Ki, you were always too bright and happy. I was worried about that because I thought maybe you were just hurting inside. If it’s possible, I want to see you scream and cry. What did you and Han Jae Hee speak about? Are you having a hard time because of me? If you’re suffering because of your memories of me, don’t hide, let it out. Stop stabbing yourself and hurt me, Eun Ki. Stop inflicting pain on yourself and stab me, like this. You need to live properly in order for me to leave. You need to get up properly so I can leave your side with out worries.

This final quote from Ma Ru fits into the ideas I’ve been grappling with about him. Hiding and smothering emotions is his job, and he knows how wearying it is and doesn’t want Eun Ki to do the same. On one hand he doesn’t want Eun Ki to suffer and doesn’t want to be the cause of her suffering. That’s part of why he doesn’t want her to regain, or is scared of her regaining, her memories. On the other hand he feels that it’s inevitable that she will, but he doesn’t want her to react as she had before: he wants her to punish him. His greatest fear isn’t that Eun Ki will find out about the past and she’ll hate him and won’t be able to forgive him (I mean, she’d known about it before and had forgiven him) it’s that he doesn’t know if his relationship with her will ever be able to escape the huge shadow his relationship with Jae Hee throws over it. His fear is that she will forgive him. The only way to cleanse, to exorcise, his previous wrongs to her is for her to punish him, and to do so without hurting herself, and he’s afraid this is exactly what she won’t be willing to do.

  
*Once Eun Ki starts wailing and “letting it out,” Ma Ru leaves, mirroring what he told her, and it triggers his hemotoma, showing us that he was speaking on two levels: that he would leave her in terms of their romance and that he would leave her in terms of death.*

His whole relationship with Jae Hee and her enormous betrayal (her faking abuse, not her letting him go to jail) was such a shock to him that it’s completely shaken his ability to trust himself. If he could love such a person and be so blind to her faults, if he could trick himself into believing he wanted revenge when he really wanted something else, then what else is he wrong about? I have wondered before that maybe discovering Jae Hee’s incredible hypocrisy  fundamentally changed his relationship with love, to the point that he no longer believed in it’s existence. He can’t help but think, “How does what I have with Eun Ki figure into what I had with Jae Hee?” It’s not that he’s still in love with Jae Hee, he makes that clear when he calls her disgusting, it’s that he has doubts about his love for Eun Ki, because of his past love for Jae Hee. It’s a fundamental, wholly destructive doubt that’s plaguing him, and Jae Hee knows just how to solidify it. And for Ma Ru the only way for him and Eun Ki to survive, the only way to escape completely from Jae Hee, is for Eun Ki to punish him, for her to be willing to do what she wasn’t on that beach in episode 9.

When Ma Ru says that she’s always been “too bright and happy,” he’s talking about both Eun Kis, the one before the car crash who forgave him and wanted to forge ahead in their romance, and the one post crash who didn’t know she had anything to forgive him for. That’s why he was so accepting during the car crash: he wanted to receive that punishment. Ma Ru says that he was worried that she was just hurting on the inside, which means that he didn’t believe that she’d wholeheartedly forgiven him. He doubted her. He believed she herself had doubt. On that beach in episode 9 he believed she was lying to herself, and that she would grow to resent him, that that resentment would grow to engulf them both. It’s almost like he thinks that the only way to deal with betrayal and doubt is through punishment, that forgiveness without punishment is empty, existentially untenable.

Ma Ru has a constant awareness of his guilt, and a constant need for penitence, to purge himself through devotion and sacrifice. It was this quality that initially colored his relationship with Choco when we first saw him after he came out of jail. Choco openly blamed him, and he accepted it, welcomed it with a chastened demeanor, and gave her a piggy back ride home. That’s what Ma Ru wants from Eun Ki, to help rectify what he’s done to her. The only way he can keep from running from the past is to constantly be punished for it–and so in a way what we discovered about Ma Ruin episode 5 during his coyote conversation with Ahn has remains true; he is the most self destructive character here. His being with Eun Ki during her amnesia is part of his penitence and that’s why Jae Hee’s words hit so close to home. This is the paradoxical hell he lives in, the conundrum that makes him so welcoming of death and so yearning for a life of happiness.

Additional Thoughts

One romantic in me (the romcom-loving, OTP-supporting romantic) wants a happy ending for Eun Ki and Ma Ru, but the other romantic in me (the loves-tragic-endings, Satan-is-the- real-hero-of-ParadiseLost romantic) wants Ma Ru to die, because he is just so destructive, to himself and to those around him. It’s almost like he has to die in order for this world they live in to be at peace.

Both Eun Ki and Ma Ru have a tension running in them between wanting to stay alive and wanting to die and it’s woven into the theme of time and the past and how they constrain us. If only we could divest ourselves of our pasts and start over anew, it seems to be asking. But it’s not something that can happen. At first it seems as though by ridding herself of her past Eun Ki would no longer have the pain it inflicted on her. But your past is part of your identity, and it’s impossible to live without being hurt. That’s the risk of being alive. I think it’s telling that the act that rids Eun Ki of her past–her pain–was a suicide-murder attempt.

  

Shout out to Viki for the awesome subs!

About ladida

lasagna enthusiast ♡✿

17 comments

  1. ladida~ I’m so excited to see you posting again~ <3 welcome back =D

  2. SP

    Love your reflection.

  3. I absolutely love what you’ve done here. We all know, approaching this show, that it’s incredibly layered, and I love the time in between episodes every week where we can all just ponder what exactly we saw in that episode, and how it relates to previous episodes, and what it means.

    This was a great call: “Once Eun Ki starts wailing and “letting it out,” Ma Ru leaves, mirroring what he told her, and it triggers his hemotoma, showing us that he was speaking on two levels: that he would leave her in terms of their romance and that he would leave her in terms of death.” The writer is incredibly fond of parallels, and I think it’s a great observation you’ve made here. It makes me shiver with delight, even though it’s a painful thought to behold.

    I like how you’ve drawn out the extent of Maru’s guilt, and how he feels he needs to be punished for it. Maru and Eun Gi’s relationship is truly a complicated one. The thought that it was based on pity didn’t sit well with me (the romantic in me). Though now (and I shall avoid spoilers for episode past 13/14), I can quite comfortably think to myself that it is, indeed, troo wuv.

    I actually couldn’t quite make sense of the confrontation with Jae Hee at Maru’s door. Several people thought it indicated that Maru still had feelings for Jae Hee, when he did that little shocked gulp and swallow at the end of it. Considering how thoroughly Maru had wiped out Jae Hee from his memory, I thought that didn’t really make sense. However, I attributed it to Maru’s shock to realise that he had ever loved Jae Hee to that extent. I prefer your interpretation though, that Jae Hee knows Maru better than he knows himself (as evidenced in Episode 8), and is picking out the doubts that Maru possibly has hidden even from himself. Maru is not quite the self-aware person he seems to think he is.

    Well, I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on the later episodes! Especially in the week leading up to the finale ;)

  4. hehe

    hey! first time commenting here ^^
    it’s brilliant as usual, and may I had that your idea about Jae-Hee being one woman who draws other people to accomplish her every will makes me think of two things.
    first Carmen. don’t know why it jumped before my eyes as I was reading but I kept thinking of her poisonous beauty and in episode 9 when she sais to the other Chairman’s wife that “she can seduce any man”. She does believe it for she has seen it, with Maru, with the reporter who tried to rape her (thought she could have done without this one), with the Chairman who even disowned his daughter and with lawyer Ahn.
    I think it’s even more telling for the Chairman because we saw that their married life was far from satistying and he knew he couldn’t trust her but still kept her. When I saw the Chairman, he looked so mean that I thought he would be one to try and harm Jae Hee and Maru would come to the rescue and they’s be dicovered and thins king of plot device, which reminds me of Carmen who couln’t end other than being passionately murdered, because she rises too much emotions, too much to handle and which is why she destroys the lives of the ones who give their love to her. She is a master of love, she leads the game and knows all the codes whith the opponents go by. “L’amour est enfant de bohème, il n’a jamais connu de loi.” and Jae Hee indeed does not aknoxledge any law when pursuing a goal of hers.
    This is what makes here a dangerous person. she will never back up for the sake of someone else when she has started something, not even for a loved one. She uses love as her weapon but its a weapon that can’t be used by her ennemies when coping with her. That’s where the red colour that surrounds her comes from. From her mastering of love and it’s uses ans tropes and from the fact that she screams danger. Getting involved with Jae Hee is dangerous, and loving her will destroy one’s life; Maru was robbed of hid future as a doctor and put in jail out of this love, Lawyer Ahn lost his soul and Chairman Seo died.

    Also I was thinking Jae Hee and Eun Gi have their own story within Nice Guy. It reminds me of Snow White, and especially with her speech to herself in her car in episode 14.
    Jae Hee is the Queen by many aspects, the one I was talking about above which is her mastering of love and the way she finds uses for it, which fits the Hunter arc. The Queen is also the King’s second wife, as well as Jae Hee is the Chairman’s second wife. and both of them have come into a home where they found a child from a previous bed and made it the cause of their frustrations. Both have the habit of looking into the mirror all day long, contemplating the gifts of their beauty and somewhat making sure that their only way out of the hell that is life was untouched and still perfect.
    But both of them could have had a less tragical history with the Princess/Eun Gi. The Queen would have continued to ignore Snow White hadn’t the mirror told her she had now become the prettiest in the Kingdom and Jae Hee didn’t mind Eun Gi as long as she would go along with her plans to take over Taesan and the household but somehow the little girl that Jae Hee didn’t fear became a powerful woman ready to take averything she had been working so hard for.
    I think Maru also knows Jae Hee very well, and after he came back from jail he became her mirror. he couldn’t before because he had not embraced her complexity, seen her manipulative side yet. But that mirror that he became suddenly only had eyes for Eun Gi and this simple fact triggered her hatred towards the one person that could shake her plan.
    And for Eun Gi, she ressembles Snow Queen as in the fact that after being chased by the Queen/Jae Hee she is sheltered by the secretary first and then by the lively house of Maru and co. which reminds me of the dwarves in their candidness and way of embracing her arrival in the family.
    But Snow White/Eun Gi’s peace is short-lived since Jae Hee sent the Hunter alias Lawyer Ahn.
    Seems like Iwent pretty far here ^^

    … that was long. Thanks for your analysis ! :)

    • ladida

      Oh my gosh, I love this!

      hee jin is happy

      I haven’t watched Carmen (now I want to before the last two episodes of Nice Guy :D) but that quote you mention has got me thinking: if love knows no laws, and and Carmen is killed in the film does that mean that love knows no laws for both the people who love her and for her herself? That she thinks she knows how to use it to manipulate people but really she doesn’t have as much control as she thinks she does?

      And the Snow white thing, yes! everything you wrote, and also food. Jae Hee is always bringing food to people, like in episode 8 and in episode 13. But when Eun Ki eats her food she falls sick, and when she brings food to Eun Ki Eun Ki collapses (although she didn’t eat anything.) But part of the happiness Ma Ru and Eun Ki experience together is domestic bliss, and that’s shown to us usually through food, like with what Eun Ki cooked for him in episode 13. It tasted awful, but Ma Ru still ate it, whereas at Jae Hee’s place the only time he ate anything was when he was checking to make sure the food wasn’t poisoned.

      And thanks, everyone, for stopping by even though I’m so late!

  5. lumiere

    You’re FINALLY back!!!! Nice Guy was not the same without you :(
    I’ve waited for this for so long *off to read* and THANK YOU for not bailing on us

  6. Jillia

    Hi ladida! :)

    Happy to read you again. I actually thought you stopped watching NG because you didn’t/don’t like the amnesia part and didn’t write anything about the new episodes. :)

    I like your thoughts on JH…. though I have to add something I thought about. She is as responsible for the chairman’s death as Ahn. Don’t let yourself being blinded by her attempt to call the ambulance. (I don’t mean it as insult!) In the end she was the one who kept the medicine from the chairman. The rest was done by Ahn. So both are responsible for it. :) (I’m not going to beat around the bush!)

    About JH and love… she has a abnormal definition of love and this left a stain on Maru’s heart and soul. And though I could slap him sometimes for his behaviour – the wish to be punished by Eun Gi – I also understand him. Like you said how can I trust himself after what JH did to him… How can he think that love still can be something good?

    • ladida

      Oh, yes, I totally agree that Jae Hee shares the blame in the chairman’s death. She was the one who took the pill bottle away from him when he was suffering from an attack. Sorry, I probably should have worded that better. :) But I do think Ahn lacks a softness to him that Jae Hee has. Maybe the ting is that Jae Hee thinks she’s justified in her actions, while Ahn has no such illusions? Hmmm…stuff for me to think about for the next reflection!

      • Jillia

        That’s why – though Ahn is evil – he is more honest than Jae Hee because she always has a justification for every evil thing she is doing. Because as long as it’s for her benefit for her the actions aren’t bad.

  7. apricot.kisses

    just letting you know – i lapped up every word on this page whilst waiting for wednes & thurs night to roll on over .
    like always , thanks for a good read – very insightful!

  8. Ladida~~ are you sick of Nice Guy? Has the end of series apathy kicked in? (considering how I found the ending to be on the disappointing/wtheck? side…) I still find the story riveting up to ep 18… but 19 and 20 was like… a heartbreak over what it could have been… i want to hear from you~~ <3333

    • ladida

      I have a confession: I haven’t watched the last four episodes of Nice Guy. (*scurries away is shame*) I think the show would have been much better if it were 16 episodes instead of 20. There is so much story there that Lee Kyung Hee chooses to leave by the wayside and ignore (the family dynamics like Eun Ki and her mother, Jae Hee and her childhood, Jae Gil and his gangster father, Choco as a character) that if she didn’t this could have been a 30 episode show, but the story she wanted to tell was not what she laid down for us in the first 9 episodes, but some other story about innocence and redemption, which is not what I signed up for. The more I think about it the more I feel betrayed. Really I think the best the show has to offer is it’s direction, it’s cinematography, it’s acting, and it’s soundtrack. The story is all smoke and mirrors.

      I don’t even have a problem with Eun Ki having amnesia, I just have a problem with the sudden personality transplant and then her getting her bitchiness back and having it dialed up to 10. It gives me whiplash. Like, Nice Guy is actually 2 separate shows, the first 9 episodes (which I loved and ate up) and the rest (which I had/have to trudge my way through). She either should have told the first story till the end, or she should have begun with the second story, if that makes any sense. I was speaking with Malta, and one thing we both didn’t like was a lack of accountability on her part, i.e. she was mad as hell, but somehow conveniently forgot that she was the one who tried to kill Ma Ru. What’s up with that? But really, I should watch the last 4 episodes before I say anything definitive. What did you find riveting about 17 and 18? Maybe that will give me the kick in the pants I need to just get over my aversion and watch them.

  9. Hahahaha sooooo very interesting that you find NG could have done better with 16 ep instead of 20…. when i in fact wanted an extension so the writer could wrap things up properly. =P I kinda saw the story more as one about mistakes (not really innocence since EG was far from innocent in the beginning, even before MR got jailed), and having deal with the consequences that put a chasm between you and the people you care about (MR and EG) so for me, I was looking for the reconciliation part… in fact, what kept 17 and 18 riveting for me was how MR reacted to finding out that EG regained her memories. How he waited for her to come back… and in the meantime (in a narrow sense because the writer didn’t develop this enough) also found reconciliation with Jaehee (more like in a family way). RECONCILIATION is my key word here… in healthy ways that MR had to find again (like you’ve once said, he’s having to relearn all he knows about maintaining healthy relationships) And was also why I was disappointed in 19 and 20… =/ I wish I got to pause time, grab that script, and rewrite it myself XP hahaha

    • ladida

      Mmm, reconciliation. What a fabulous word. I love what you’re saying here about the characters needing to reconcile with one another, and what you say below about the chasm between Eun Ki and Ma Ru and how it involves a lack of communication, possibly an inability to communicate (verbally, anyway) on Ma Ru’s part…that word, “reconciliation,” makes me think of how they don’t just ned to reconcile with one another, but reconcile with themselves, with the guilt they have, and also reconcile with their lives, specially Ma Ru and Jae Hee, reconcile with how their lives feel inadequate to them and are not what they had imagined for themselves. Now I want to watch the last four episodes, but I’m stuck on CDD Alice and School 2013! So many dramas, so little time!

  10. edits: chasm between MR and EG wasn’t just about the romantic part, but more like, he lost the freedom to communicate sincerely when he wanted to… because of DISTRUST being the chasm, even when he tried, his sincerity would not be received as sincerity by the other person. As for EG, I was looking for reconciliation too… especially of the relationship with her dad. It was weird that she grieved for the version of her dad that never existed, but she’d assumed (or maybe there was just affection from blood-ties period, like how she could never completely bail on him even before the amnesia)… the unnerving father-daughter relationship was even more blown up after she recovered her memory, and I wanted her to have worked that out… because that would tie in with her having closure regarding both her mom and her dad, and reconciliation with her little brother… sigh

  11. emeronee

    at this moment Nice Guy are still airing on Phil. TV GMA.. and yes I’m a Fan of CHAEKI.. <3<3<3

Revel!

