Kdramas, Rape Culture, & Complicity

Disclaimer: I recognize what I write about here is not something that’s specific to kdramas or Korean media and that they can be found in the productions of most cultures, including the ones I’m a part of. In this post I focus on the ones in the kdramas I’ve watched, but there are lots of dramas out there with male leads who are not at all overly aggressive, (Dal Ja’s Spring, My Girlfriedn is a Gumiho, OB/GYN Doctors, What’s Up Fox?, Dream High, My Girl, to name a few). I’m not trying to shame Korea/Korean media while ignoring the fact that the same thing happens in other media I consume. Also, the very few kdramas I’ve seen are not representative of Korean culture as a whole, obviously!

In episode 5 of Me Too, Flower our heroine punches our hero and tells him that kissing her against her will is sexual harassment! I love this girl. Lovelovelovelovelove. With a few words she undoes all the “one sided kisses” (aka forced kisses/forced sexual advances) that are a part of rape culture and end up ruining the first kiss of most of my drama OTPs.

The one from Secret Garden was the absolute worst—way past cringe inducing and into something-is-horribly-wrong-here territory. As in “Am I watching a whimsical romantic comedy or a horror?” I mean, I could imagine Ha Ji Won (the actress) being uncomfortable while filming that scene. Gil Ra Im was actively, emphatically fighting Joo Won off the entire time (which makes me raise an eyebrow at the argument that states she accepted the hug Joo Won gave her on the bed) and it made me feel more than uncomfortable—I was disgusted and angry and honestly, just confused. I did not understand it. It seemed so much more extreme than the usual antagonisms that existed between those two as a romantic couple. They both used violence in their interactions with one another, both verbal and physical, but this felt more threatening than anything else that happened between them. SG is a show I need to watch over again and write about. I enjoyed it immensely, (and the Big Bang parody), but it was hella fucked up.

And my experience watching that show now affects how I watch other kdramas. For example, one of my recent favorites is Queen of Reversals, which has a very cute, very satisfying romance with an older alpha woman and a younger puppy-dog man. BUT, it also has a scene in which our hero forces a kiss onto our heroine. And afterwards our hero refers back to it as “the kiss we shared” and uses it as evidence that he and our heroine are dating! Before watching Secret Garden I suspect I would have just ignored that, but after Secret Garden, it just drives me up the wall. I can’t stand it. I hate it. I want it to stop. And what I hate the most is that the narrative tries to paint it as a bonding moment, as loving and caring and something that’ll make viewers swoon. But it’s not. It’s disgusting. And the same thing. Keeps popping up. In all the dramas I watchWHY?

 

My other favorite drama right now is The Princess’s Man, which is this lush, epic, beautifully told love story with this awesome female lead who defies her father because he is corrupt and exercises her agency to her fullest extent within the constraints of her position in society. One of her best characteristics is her loyalty—to herself and her ideals, and to the people she loves. BUT, and I’ll write more about this in the final part of my critique of the show, there is this thing that is a part of the narrative and a part of their romance and that is presented in a positive light, where Seung Yoo, our hero, is extremely violent towards her and threatens her with death, and Se Ryung, our heroine, not only accepts it, but welcomes it and encourages it and ignores the threat being placed on her and turns it around so that the focus is on his pain as opposed to his threat to kill her. MANPAIN. Uuuuuggggggghhhhhhh. He threatens to dismember every member of her family and she hugs him and asks him how much he’s hurting. Uh, not as much as your mother’s gonna be hurting if he does what he just said he wants to do! I hate it because it makes me feel that I can only love these things in parts, in little bursts, with quick smacks of my lips against the cheek instead of with full-on, minutes-long hugs that involve rocking from foot to foot, and these things that I enjoy are perpetuating things that I hate, things that hurt me and others; these things that I consume as entertainment are reflecting and influencing the “real world” in ugly ways, and I’m part of that ugliness.

AND. If there is one kdrama that I love wholeheartedly, with no reservations, it is Coffee Prince. (If I remove the entirety of the secondary leads in What’s Up Fox, it would be that one, but alas…) And then I read about piggybacking, and they point out how Han Geul ends up piggy-backing Go Eun Chan in the end, and how that reflects and reinforces the patriarchal society the story arises from and I see how Coffee Prince and Secret Garden are linked and I’m crushed again.

Go Eun Chan after choi Han Geul forces a kiss on her in episode 11 of Coffee Prince.

About ladida

lasagna enthusiast ♡✿

9 comments

  1. The forced-kiss scene is literally the only thing I didn’t like about Coffee Prince. What place does sexual violence (which is what it ultimately boils down to) have in a sweet love story that takes kisses so very seriously? :(

    And I never thought the male lead in the Princess’s Man deserved the female lead’s amazing loyalty—he went from a playboy fop to a vigilante, only becoming a decent human being in the last few episodes.

    • ladida

      We’re actually posting an analysis of that scene tomorrow. Trendy drama narratives usually gloss over the sexual violence portrayed or make a joke out of it, unless it’s a makjang, which sensationalizes it, but Coffee Prince approached it in a totally different light. Such a great drama. And yeah, I love TPM, but I did not like how the lead guy was in the middle episodes. I didn’t mind the violence in his revenge, but when he turned it against our heroine, and then the narrative tried to play it off as though his kidnapping and tying her up were romantic–nuh unh. That ish does not fly.

  2. Pingback: Korean Gender Reader « The Grand Narrative

  3. Caitlin

    The only K-drama I’ve every watched is Dream High, and the rape incident and aftermath made me feel extremely uncomfortable. I thought it was just a case of “novelty drama attempting controversy” but the more I explore the kpop and kdrama scene, the more disturbed I am by the often extreme roles that each gender plays in Korean media. Having said that, I’ve been reading around gender issues in Korea, and I want to know, are alternate genders and sexualities allowed (positive) visibility in popular Korean media, (i.e. LBGT)?

    Sorry if I’m asking for too much, I’m new to Korean culture and I find it fascinating.

  4. KJ

    Forced kisses and wrist grabbing are two things I seriously dislike in Asian dramas. I always want the girl to throw the guy’s hand off or shove him away, or, when she actually does those things, for the guy to show some sense and stay put instead of just moving in again. But it seems that’s too much to ask for…

    I haven’t watched all that many kdramas, and the ones I have always seem to follow the same formula of guy making the first move, so I was pleasantly surprised to see the girl (in this case f(x)’s Luna) initiating her first kiss in a recent episode of Saving Ajumma Go Bong Shil. I’d like to see more dramas where the character’s first kiss is sweet, something they share with happy embarrassment, instead of where the girl is pressed against a hard surface, unresponsive or “giving in” to the guy she wants to hate but just can’t resist. Or whatever variant of that theme.

  5. Judith Haemmerle

    I seem to suspend all my critical faculties when I watch K-drama, and I refer to those scenes where the heroine stares wide-eyed into space as the hero surprise-kisses her as the “deer in the headlights” moments. I’m going to have to watch those more carefully – there’s no question that some are offensive, but I think some aren’t. Maybe because I work mostly with geeks and nerds, who don’t have a vocabulary for expressing affection or a clear comprehension of social interaction, I’m more tolerant of the inarticulate male who knows what he wants but has no idea how to get it in an appropriate way. This will be an interesting concept to follow.
    And the wrist grabbing – yes, I hate that. Why do the women always go along with it?
    Another thing that drives me crazy is the rich man taking her shopping and picking out her clothes. Are we mannequins? Unlike a lot of women, I hate shopping and I don’t lie clothes, but I’m certainly never going to let a man tell me what I want to wear. That one bugs me way more than the kisses.
    So glad I found your blog!

  6. cindyg

    just finished Que Sera Sera with Eric Mun. It was terrific a dark, adult rom-com-melo. But there is ONE scene that blew me away in terms of the male lead’s sexual agressiveness. I think this must have been a huge conversation topic in 2007. See DramaBeans recap of Episode 9 and the extra recap where they have the actual script from that scene. It’s interesting to read the discussion. What the writer wanted, the director, the final editing, the actors, was all slightly different. The agression was supposed to tell male lead had become so emotional that he was out of control. and then he realized he’s about to hurt the woman he loves and he stops. But. it’shard to watch. (BTW, overall QSS is wonderful, not predictible at all). More than these scenes, the ‘almost-incest-are they really siblings’ theme upsets me a lot. but that’s another issue.

  7. ladida

    Just a note to add to this: I’m watching Biscuit Teacher Star Candy right now, and it’s so cute, but it’s so problematic. He gets her drunk, to the point that she passes out, and then gives her a piggyback ride to a hotel. Why???

  8. Pingback: Nice Guy (Innocent Man) Episodes 9-12 Part I: Fangirl Musings « Idle Revelry

Revel!

