Questionable Choices

…Death by teddy bear.

I was so scared when I first saw this that I had to pause the video to make sure I wasn’t hallucinating. Knowing Kdrama fashion, this was probably suppose to be cute, but a teddy bear choker seems just a little bit S&M. (I think it’s actually the collar of her sweater, but that’s besides the point). Maybe it’s just me, but this choker just screams, “make a version of me in leather and studs!”

Best photo shoot ever!

Anywhooo…History of a Salaryman (HoS) is a wonderful quirky drama that I’ve been enjoying lately, teddy bears and all. I fell in love with it the moment I saw its zany poster and teaser even though I had no idea what the show would be about. It’s turning out to be one of the most original and darkly funny kdramas I’ve ever seen. Beside having a great story, everyone is perfectly cast including Jung Ryu Won as the spoiled heiress Baek Yeo Chi. I’ve never liked her more. Lee Bum Soo is Yoo Bang, our befuddled and hapless, though lovable hero who is also the moral center of the story. Jung Gyu Woon is Choi Hang Woo, a man on a mission both business and personal. And finally Hong Soo Hyun is wonderful as Cha Woo Hee, a surprisingly funny and relatable scientist with motives of her own. I also love the theme to HoS (I don’t think it’s been released yet), a badass, action-hero theme that comes on all the time, unnecessarily, but it’s hilarious as opposed to annoying. HoS just does it right.

HoS tackles corporate hijinks, espionage, murder and intrigue, all on a curious and well constructed modern version of the myth of the fountain of youth. Ingenious. For once I actually care what some major Korean conglomerate has up it’s sleeves in a kdrama! That’s a commendable feat. Take note Midas (I still lub you Jang Hyuk!).

About Malta

I guess I'm a blogger now...

One comment

  1. ripgal

    HoTS is crack. I’m getting so addicted that nothing makes sense anymore o_0

    Love everything about the drama. The way it deals with the story and character dynamics, how does the writer come up with such brilliant ideas?! Every single character is unique and unpredictable. Humor, dark and clever. Acting, totally spot on by the whole cast (not a single actor sticks out, they’re all amazingly good!). Chemistry between the 4 leads, I couldn’t have asked for more. I love it. love it love it!

    And the romance angle? Total genius. I love how the 4 characters are entangled with each other, at this point in time we have no idea who’s interested in who (apart from Yeo Chi), and who will end up with who. Tho I already have my ships in mind, I totally don’t mind seeing the drama play with the possibilities for a lil longer. They’re just so FUN!

Revel!

